Is 7 a lucky number for the kids waiting on your help?

Yes, it is me again

If you have been keeping track, I have been promoting a fundraiser for the Children’s Miracle Network.  I have begged, pleaded and in some cases cajoled folks to help out with this cause. The response has been heart warming.  Lots of you have said you would support the cause.  I had a plan that folks would sponsor me at ten cents a hole. I also added that the cost would go up if I parred the hole or did better than pay.

I will be honest, my goal was 72 holes.  I figured I could get through 54.  I never dreamed I could go on and on and on like the energizer bunny.  But then I did not realize the energy I could draw from all of you and the members at the club and the folks that came by during the day to cheer me on.

I had no clue the power you can find with the support of your best friend.

We showed up at sunrise (530 came very early after preparing until 1 am the night before).  Lourdes loaded the golf cart with sunscreen, bug repellent, gator ade, sodas, water, extra balls and tees.  The staff greeted us warmly and sent us on our way.

I began playing at around 7 in the morning and kept going through the day until seven at night.  I did manage 54 holes and I kept going.  I got to 90 holes and Lourdes said “let’s try for 100”.  We passed 100 and finished our sixth round with 108 holes completed.  By that time a small group of friends had shown up.  We headed out for the seventh time and as our 12th hour on the course came to a close, I managed to finish 18 more to total 126 holes in one day.

So, if you were one of those that chimed in and said you would support the effort on a per hole basis…well, at ten cents a hole, your pledge is $12.60.  The score card indicates that out of 126 holes I managed 70 pars, 13 birdies and one eagle.  If you want to go the full route, that adds $3.50 for the pars and $3.50 for the birdie or better holes. That would bring the total to $19.60.

If it is all too confusing, please take a minute and send what you can…$5.00 or $10.00 helps a lot. Make checks or money orders payable to: Children’s Miracle Network and send them to Tudela MacArthur, ReMax Realty Centre, 3300  Olney-Sandy Spring Road, Olney, MD 20832. In the comment section write: golf marathon.

I suppose, at the end of completing seven rounds of golf, my only question is…Is 7 a lucky number for the kids waiting on your help?

Thank’s for your support!

I have to add a special thank you to the platinum sponsors and individual hole sponsors.  And I will be forever grateful to the management and staff at Gunpowder Golf Club. Their support made this event possible.  With all of that behind me…playing all day was a walk in the park.

3 thoughts on “Is 7 a lucky number for the kids waiting on your help?

  1. John, you certainly deserve lots of praise for your determination! You were amazing on the course and Lourdes stood right by your side to support you! You both really showed the Spirit that our charity needs. Thanks for all you do! We are know one step closer to our goal because of you and Lourdes!

  2. John,

    You showed the younger guys how a real man responds to a challenge! Great work for a worthy charity!

    Bob

Leave a Reply

